The State of Texas has adopted legislation that allows its law-abiding citizens to carry concealed handguns for self-protection. Obtaining a Texas License to Carry/Concealed Handgun License for the State of Texas requires successful completion of a minimum 4-hour certification course which is outlined by the Texas Department of Public Safety and covers topics on the use of force, gun safety, gun storage, conflict resolution and Texas laws pertaining to use of force as a defense, licensing requirements and laws regulating concealed handgun license holders.
To obtain a Texas License to Carry/Concealed Handgun License in the State of Texas you must complete the 4-6 hour course , qualify with a handgun in accordance with the DPS course of fire, and pass a 50 question exam. A student must then apply to the state and pay the current fees and undergo a complete background check for the state to issue a license. There is currently no requirement as to which order an applicant must follow regarding class and online application.
The entire process requires the completion of both. Either may be completed before the other. Applicant may complete their State of Texas Online Application which includes all application questions, affidavits, and payment arrangements. Fingerprints may then be obtained at a L-1 identity location after the application has been completed and payment received online. The completed application checklist, along with required proficiency certificate (CHL-100) issued by our instructor can then be returned to the DPS along with two passport style photos and the CHL-6 signature page, to completed the application process.
Dykes Security Academy can act as a transfer dealer for your firearm purchases that need to be shipped into Hearne or the surrounding areas. The transfer fee is $25 per firearm.
Please contact Dykes Secruity Academy Lic# F01363 at
Copyright © 2023 L&S Services,llc - All Rights Reserved.